Cassandra Clare Signs Seven-Figure Book Deal for New Series

in Potpourri by

Cassandra Clare, New York Times best-selling author of the wildly popular Young Adult urban fantasy series The Mortal Instruments, The Infernal Devices, and  The Dark Artifices, has just signed a seven-figure book deal with Del Rey Books to launch a new series in the same genre, but with an adult audience as the focus. Sword Catcher, the first book in this new series is currently in progress, and a publication date will be announced shortly.

Readers should expect the books to be high fantasy novels, dealing with “criminals, princes, magicians, and warriors,” a step away from the New York City set of The City of Bones, the first book in The Mortal Instruments series. Cassandra Clare tweeted the big news yesterday:

While not much has been reported on the book, Clare mentioned that it would be “the tale of a young man raised to be the body double for an unworthy prince, a young woman destined to change the world, and a host of other characters I cannot wait for you to meet.”

This will be Clare’s first step into writing novels for adults, and she will be working with Anne Groell, the editor of George R.R. Martin for Game of Thronesas well as  Naomi Novik, the author of Uprootedwhich was nominated for the 2016 Hugo Award for Best Novel, and won the Nebula Award for Best Novel, Locus Award for Best Fantasy Novel, and Mythopoeic Award for Adult Literature, all for 2016.

Clare’s first book, The City of Bones, of The Mortal Instruments series in The Shadowhunter Chronicles, was adapted into a movie in 2013, starring Lily Collins (author of the book Unfiltered: No Shame, No Regrets, Just Me) and Jamie Campbell Bower. Most recently, it’s been adapted into a television series on Freeform, called Shadowhunters, which has just been renewed for a third season.

While the wait for Clare’s new series to be published begins, take a look at her previous work, including Lord of Shadows, of The Dark Artifices series, which was published this past May, and she has an upcoming book in the same series, Queen of Air and Darkness, which will be published in December, 2018.

For more information on the author, please visit her website, at She also has a twitter, tumblr, Instagram, and Facebook.

Rachel Fogle De Souza was born and raised in Connecticut, and traveled extensively throughout Europe, parts of Asia, and the United States, before attending college at the University of California, Davis, where she received a B.A. in Comparative Literature, with a double minor in Women, Gender and Sexualities studies, and Middle Eastern/South Asian studies. When she's not writing, she's reading, boxing, or thinking about traveling.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


Go to Top