True Blood’s Sookie Stackhouse Returns in Collection of Short Stories

in Fiction by

If you thought that the Sookie Stackhouse series was done and over, think again! Charlaine Harris, author of The Southern Vampire Mysteries Series aka The Sookie Stackhouse Series aka The True Blood Novels, has released several short stories that take place in the True Blood universe; now, for the first time, she’s releasing the complete collection of short stories. Because the short stories are often extensions of scenes in the original books, she’s not only giving fans an opportunity to revisit their favorite characters, but also their favorite moments.

Image courtesy of

The Southern Vampire Mysteries takes place in Bon Temps, Louisiana. Vampires have just recently “come out of the coffin,” and are able to live off of (though not particularly enjoy) the synthetic blood ‘True Blood’. For telepathic waitress Sookie Stackhouse, everything changes when she meets and falls in love with vampire Bill Compton; and while vampires are struggling to assimilate, anti-vampire groups are gaining more and more power. The addition of other vampires in town complicates things for Sookie even further.

The series’ first novel, Dead Until Dark, was published in 2001, winning the Anthony Award (a literary award for mystery writers) for Best Paperback Original, and the series ended in 2013, with Dead Ever After. Beloved on their own, the popularity of the books only skyrocketed after HBO turned it into their critically-acclaimed, award-winning show True Blood, which ran for seven seasons, starring Academy Award winner Anna Paquin.

While we recommend reading the collection of short stories after you read the novels, there’s nothing wrong with jumping ahead just a little bit – and either way, we guarantee you’ll be drawn in to the stories and will read the original novels anyway. Charlaine Harris is an incredibly gifted writer, making it seem like the world she’s created is existing all around you. Old fans and new ones will love reading The Complete Sookie Stackhouse Stories when the collection comes out on November 21st.

In addition to The Southern Vampire Mysteries Series, Charlaine Harris is also the author of the Midnight, Texas series, which was recently turned into an NBC primetime show. If you’re interested, the first book in the series is Midnight Crossroads.

The Complete Sookie Stackhouse Stories will be released on November 21st. For those interested in The Southern Vampire Mysteries, the first ten books are available as a collection.

For more information on author Charlaine Harris, please visit her website at


Image courtesy of

Charlaine Harris is a New York Times bestselling author who has been writing for over twenty years. She was born and raised in the Mississippi River Delta area. Though her early works consisted largely of poems about ghosts and, later, teenage angst, she wrote plays when she attended Rhodes College in Memphis, Tennessee. She began to write books a few years later.After publishing two stand-alone mysteries, Harris launched a lighthearted series “starring” Georgia librarian Aurora Teagarden, with Real Murders, a Best Novel nominee for the 1990 Agatha Awards. Harris wrote eight Aurora titles. In 1996, she released the first of the much darker Shakespeare Mysteries. After Shakespeare, Harris created The Sookie Stackhouse urban fantasy series about a telepathic waitress who works in a bar in the fictional Northern Louisiana town of Bon Temps. The first of these, Dead Until Dark, won the Anthony Award for Best Paperback Mystery in 2001. Professionally, Harris is a member of the Mystery Writers of America and the American Crime Writers League. She is a member of the board of Sisters in Crime, and alternates with Joan Hess as president of the Arkansas Mystery Writers Alliance. Personally, Harris is married and the mother of three. She lives in a small town in Southern Arkansas and when she is not writing her own books, she reads omnivorously!

Interested in writing? Take a look at our Writers-in-Residence program!

Be a BookTrib Ambassador! 
Sign up NOW for our weekly newsletter.

Rachel Fogle De Souza was born and raised in Connecticut, and traveled extensively throughout Europe, parts of Asia, and the United States, before attending college at the University of California, Davis, where she received a B.A. in Comparative Literature, with a double minor in Women, Gender and Sexualities studies, and Middle Eastern/South Asian studies. When she's not writing, she's reading, boxing, or thinking about traveling.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


Go to Top