Tag archive

Publishers Weekly

Happening This Week: Best, Must-Attend Literary Events In and Around New York City

in Potpourri by

If you were on the east coast this weekend, storms, heavy winds, down trees and power outages kept many of us indoors.  As book lovers, we really don’t mind because it just gives us a chance to pick up that new Spring read we’ve been meaning to get to or return to one of our favorite classics. But, that was last week. This week, we’re getting out of the house and so should you! If you are in or around New York City, here are some of he best literary events happening this week in the Big Apple: Monday, March 5, 2018: Bard College Professor and bestselling author Daniel Mendelsohn will be reading from his new memoir, An Odyssey: A Father, a Son, and an…

Keep Reading

Sybil’s List: Publishers Weekly Book Reviewer Sybil Steinberg’s List of Reads

in Potpourri by

We love a good booklist to peek our interest and inspire us to read more. Westport Connecticut resident Sybil Steinberg, contributing editor and former book review section editor for Publishers Weekly puts together a list of her favorites several times a year and recently she presented her July 2017 picks to a standing room only crowd at the Westport Library. I had a chance to catch up with Sybil and ask her a few questions… BookTrib: Your list of recommendations is so long, what is your favorite genre and how much do you read? Steinberg: Books are my passion. I read three or four books a week. I try to keep a balance between fiction and nonfiction. I’m an avid…

Keep Reading

Video: Missed It? Live Interview with Elisabeth Egan and A Window Opens

in Fiction by

“Egan’s delightful debut is a fresh, funny take on the age-old struggle to have it all.” —People Fans of I Don’t Know How She Does It and Where’d You Go, Bernadette? will cheer at this “fresh, funny take on the age-old struggle to have it all” (People) about what happens when a wife and mother of three leaps at the chance to fulfill her professional destiny—only to learn every opportunity comes at a price. In A Window Opens, beloved books editor at Glamour magazine Elisabeth Egan brings us Alice Pearse, a compulsively honest, longing-to-have-it-all, sandwich generation heroine for our social-media-obsessed, lean in (or opt out) age. Like her fictional forebears Kate Reddy and Bridget Jones, Alice plays many roles (which…

Keep Reading

Go to Top