M.L. Huie

Historical Fiction
Thriller
Mystery

How far would you go for vengeance? Historical mystery for fans of Susan Elia MacNeal’s Maggie Hope series and Kate Quinn’s The Alice Network.

M. L. Huie is a writer, teacher and actor. In addition to working as a features journalist, he has written several plays that have been performed throughout the U.S. and in the U.K. Spitfire is his first novel.

Read our review of Spitfire here, and find out more about Huie on his website.

BOOKS:

Spitfire (2020)

Biggest literary influencers:

Mick Herron, Dashiell Hammett, Megan Abbott, Olen Steinhauer, Len Deighton

Last book read:

Lady in the Lake by Laura Lippman

The book that changed your life:

I have to say Goldfinger. I had a copy in seventh grade with a very scandalous cover, and my unsophisticated 13-year-old self thought it seemed very sophisticated. As the years have passed, that book and the other Bond novels have taught me many things. Fleming was a superior thriller writer, but his racist, homophobic and misogynistic attitudes can’t be dismissed because of his time. In many ways, Spitfire’s Livy Nash with her working-class upbringing and directness are my response to everything — both good and bad — the Bond novels have taught me.

Your favorite literary character:

Hamlet, the greatest character in the greatest play ever written. The play is an epic action/adventure with introspection, and Hamlet is the smart, brooding hero who contemplates existence and has a kick-ass swordfight at the end. If I’m choosing from the world of novels, then it’s the Raymond Chandler character, Phillip Marlowe. There is nothing more fun, to me, than the moment Marlowe meets a new client, be it a wealthy dying old man or the giant Moose Malloy. Yes, he’s tough and cynical and wry, but Marlowe has a big heart.

Currently working on:

The second book in the Livy Nash series, Nightshade.

Words to live by:

“If it was easy everyone would do it.” My wife often says this to me when I’m whining about the challenges of writing.

Advice to new and aspiring authors:

Never give up. My book was rejected by close to 40 editors before it found a home.

Testimonials

“Huie’s taut spy thriller takes the reader to a Britain and France where the wounds of war are both deep and fresh … An auspicious debut.”
—Charlie LovettNew York Times bestselling author of The Bookman’s Tale

“Post-WWII London and Paris serve as a backdrop for a gutsy, damaged heroine who matches wits with a dangerous new enemy. A riveting page-turner!”
—Dianne Freeman, author of the award-winning Countess of Harleigh mystery series

“Huie writes with dry, cracking wit and unflinching heart … Filled with intrigue, betrayal, heartache and danger, Spitfire is a debut not to be missed.”
—Meghan Holloway, author of Once More Unto the Breach