M.L. Huie

Historical Fiction
Thriller
Mystery

How far would you go for vengeance? Historical mystery for fans of Susan Elia MacNeal’s Maggie Hope series and Kate Quinn’s The Alice Network .

M. L. Huie is a writer, teacher and actor. In addition to working as a features journalist he has written several plays that have been performed throughout the US and in the UK. This is his first novel.

Find out more at his website: www.mlhuie.com

BOOKS:

Spitfire (2020)

Biggest literary influencers:

Mick Herron, Dashiell Hammett, Megan Abbott, Olen Steinhauer, Len Deighton

Last book read:

Lady in the Lake by Laura Lippman

The book that changed your life:

I have to say Goldfinger. I had a copy in 7th grade with a very scandalous cover and my unsophisticated 13-year-old self thought it seemed very sophisticated. As the years have passed that book and the other Bond novels have taught me many things. Fleming was a superior thriller writer, but his racist, homophobic and misogynistic attitudes can’t be dismissed because of his time. In many ways Spitfire’s Livy Nash with her working-class upbringing and directness are my response to everything —both good and bad—the Bond novels have taught me.

Your favorite literary character:

Hamlet, the greatest character in the greatest play ever written. The play is an epic action/adventure with introspection and Hamlet is the smart, brooding hero who contemplates existence and has a kick-ass swordfight at the end. If I’m choosing from the world of novels, then it’s Phillip Marlowe. There is nothing more fun, to me, than the moment Marlowe meets a new client, be it a wealthy dying old man or the giant Moose Malloy. Yes, he’s tough and cynical and wry, but Marlowe has a big heart.

Currently working on:

The second book in the Livy Nash series, Nightshade.

Words to live by:

“If it was easy everyone would do it.” My wife often says this to me when I’m whining about the challenges of writing.

Advice to new and aspiring authors:

Never give up. My book was rejected by close to 40 editors before it found a home.

Testimonials:

“Huie’s taut spy thriller takes the reader to a Britain and France where the wounds of war are both deep and fresh . . . An auspicious debut.”
—Charlie LovettNew York Times bestselling author of The Bookman’s Tale

“Post WWII London and Paris serve as a backdrop for a gutsy, damaged heroine who matches wits with a dangerous new enemy. A riveting page-turner!”
—Dianne Freeman, author of the award-winning Countess of Harleigh mystery series

“Huie writes with dry, cracking wit and unflinching heart . . . Filled with intrigue, betrayal, heartache, and danger, Spitfire is a debut not to be missed.”
—Meghan Holloway, author of Once More Unto the Breach