Tag archive

the New York Times Book Review

Meet The New York Times’ New Romance Columnist

in Romance by

Romance is one of the most successful genres in publishing despite often being overlooked by both the mainstream media and the publishing world. Jaime Green is a writer, editor and teacher who has has written about books for Slate, Vulture, Thrillist, BuzzFeed and many others. She now joins The Gray Lady as the new romance columnist for The New York Times Book Review. Roxanne says “Jamie’s column shows that romance novels can be smart and fun and explores how they fit into today’s world culturally and politically.” So, whether you favor Jane Austen’s Mr. Darcy or prefer the modern day rom-com hunk, you are sure to find the perfect romance recommendation in Jaime’s new column! Check out Jaime’s Column! Books in this episode: Captive Audience: On Love…

Keep Reading

NY Times Editor Pamela Paul’s ‘My Life with Bob’ is a Treat for Book Lovers

in Non-Fiction by

I received multiple copies of My Life with Bob as a gift for my birthday; evidently several people believed I would enjoy it and of course, they were right! As a reader, what’s not to like about a book about someone who loves books. Author Pamela Paul, editor of The New York Times Book Review kept a record of everything she read in her Book of Books (Bob) for almost 30 years. Her memoir takes us along her life journey with the list of everything she read along the way from her teen years to adulthood. This journal, Bob, is synonymous with her, representing a diary with hopes and dreams, the good, the bad and the ugly. The books she…

Keep Reading

Video: Missed It? Live Interview with Elisabeth Egan and A Window Opens

in Fiction by

“Egan’s delightful debut is a fresh, funny take on the age-old struggle to have it all.” —People Fans of I Don’t Know How She Does It and Where’d You Go, Bernadette? will cheer at this “fresh, funny take on the age-old struggle to have it all” (People) about what happens when a wife and mother of three leaps at the chance to fulfill her professional destiny—only to learn every opportunity comes at a price. In A Window Opens, beloved books editor at Glamour magazine Elisabeth Egan brings us Alice Pearse, a compulsively honest, longing-to-have-it-all, sandwich generation heroine for our social-media-obsessed, lean in (or opt out) age. Like her fictional forebears Kate Reddy and Bridget Jones, Alice plays many roles (which…

Keep Reading

Go to Top