Tag archive

Glamour

The Return of Bailey Weggins: Author Kate White Talks About Her Latest Book, ‘Even If It Kills Her’

in Thrillers by

Bailey Weggins is not your typical heroine. She started out as a writer for a major women’s magazine, before becoming an amateur sleuth with a brief moment of work for a celebrity gossip publication, and then turned true crime journalist. But rather than being the tortured lead character who often thinks that the people she loves would be better off without her in their lives, Bailey is actually relatable: sometimes she makes mistakes, but she tries to put them right; she has good relationships, and people she loves. She’s smart, bold, and pretty gutsy – a character that we can not only relate to, but want to read about. Similarly, the author of the Bailey Weggins Mystery Series, Kate White,…

Keep Reading

Emmy Books and Red Carpet Looks

in Potpourri by

This week, we are counting down the days until the Emmy Awards on Sunday, and while we are all excited to hear about our favorite TV shows and celebrities, we can’t forget an essential part of any awards ceremony: the red carpet. In order to celebrate some of the most iconic looks, here is a list of 6 books on red carpet style, fashion and history. Red Carpet Hair: Beautiful Hairstyles for Special Occasions, Timothy C. Johnson   This is the first book from celebrity hairstylist Timothy Johnson, who started his career in Chicago, before moving to Milan and styling hair for runways and photo shoots. The photography book documents classic hairstyles from the red carpet, and readers will be inspired…

Keep Reading

Jennifer Weiner’s ‘Hungry Heart’ is Intimate and Engrossing — Plus, Her Top Six Novels

in Fiction by

Jennifer Weiner is known for her well-written, thought-provoking novels about women in their personal and professional lives. Her books feature family drama, falling in and out of love, growing older, having children, chasing dreams and all the other complicated and messy parts of life. She’s also one of those writers with a particularly recognizable style. Like Stephen King with horror, or Nora Roberts with romantic thrillers, Jennifer Weiner has a specific brand. It’s definitely a brand that I love and can never get enough of. Hand me Good in Bed, or In Her Shoes and I’ll be happy for hours. But as an author and an outspoken advocate for women’s writing, Weiner’s style is a lot more nuanced than some…

Keep Reading

Video: Missed It? Live Interview with Elisabeth Egan and A Window Opens

in Fiction by

“Egan’s delightful debut is a fresh, funny take on the age-old struggle to have it all.” —People Fans of I Don’t Know How She Does It and Where’d You Go, Bernadette? will cheer at this “fresh, funny take on the age-old struggle to have it all” (People) about what happens when a wife and mother of three leaps at the chance to fulfill her professional destiny—only to learn every opportunity comes at a price. In A Window Opens, beloved books editor at Glamour magazine Elisabeth Egan brings us Alice Pearse, a compulsively honest, longing-to-have-it-all, sandwich generation heroine for our social-media-obsessed, lean in (or opt out) age. Like her fictional forebears Kate Reddy and Bridget Jones, Alice plays many roles (which…

Keep Reading

Go to Top