*U.S. Entries Only*

Author Michael Shusko is no ordinary novelist.  A decorated naval officer and physician, fluent in Arabic, he has worked in some of the most dangerous areas of the world.  In Evil Winds, the third installment of his Tradecraft book series, he focuses on the decades-long humanitarian crisis that has plagued the African country of Sudan and spilled across its border to Chad.   

Relentless conflict has resulted in the destruction of entire villages and the massacre of thousands of people in Sudan’s Darfur region.  Massive refuge camps have sprung up with little chance of resettlement of their occupants. Shusko uses these real-world events and locations as the backdrop for his stunning thriller, Evil Winds.

The story centers on the crusade of an idealistic American journalist, Angie Bryant, who wants to wake the world to the atrocities being committed in Darfur – no matter the personal risk.  She enlists the help of Jason Russo, an NGO doctor working in Chad. When the pair witness Janjaweed Arab terrorists gun down a dozen Darfurian refugees in cold blood, they realize that time is against them, and they set out on a journey to uncover the truth behind these crimes.  They are soon captured by the vicious Janjaweed leader himself, who is just a cog in an international conspiracy to bilk Africa of its oil and mineral riches. Using subterfuge, Angie and Jason manage to escape, rescuing twelve-year-old Halima, a courageous Darfurian girl, along the way.

But once again they are captured, this time by a troop of Sudanese soldiers.  With the help of veteran CIA operative Steve Connors, they are freed from prison.  Despite Steve’s advice that they return to the U.S., Angie and Jason – along with Halima – continue their quest to uncover the truth about government corruption, human trafficking, and other crimes that have remained hidden for much too long.

Evil Winds is a powerful story of international conspiracies, terrorism, and murder. Michael Shusko takes readers to locales that few of us can imagine, populated with ruthless villians as well as ordinary people whose courage is inspiring.  With his insider’s eye for detail and nuance, Shusko has produced a novel that is destined to become a classic.

ABOUT MICHAEL SHUSKO:

Michael Shusko, author of Evil Winds, is a medical doctor and decorated Marine and Naval officer who has worked on intelligence and medical missions across the globe. Fluent in Arabic, he holds a Bachelor’s degree in Middle Eastern studies from Rutgers University.  After transferring from the Marines to the Navy Medical Corps, he attended medical school at Wake Forest University, obtaining his degree in 2002. He also studied at Harvard University, earning a Master’s of Public Health degree in 2013. Dr. Shusko has been awarded the Bronze Star twice for service in Iraq and Afghanistan, and has traveled extensively in the Middle East, Africa, Europe, and Asia. In addition to Evil Winds, Mike Shusko is the author of Vector and Shifting Sands, the first two novels in his Tradecraft book series. To learn more, visit: www.michaelshusko.com.

*U.S. Entries Only*

A charming series debut featuring two American sleuths in Paris, Death in Paris is a perfect traditional mystery for fans of M. L. Longworth and Juliet Blackwell.

The only thing chillier than a Parisian winter is cold-blooded murder.

When French financier Edgar Bowen drowns in a bowl of soup, his former girlfriend, American Rachel Levis, is alarmed by the unnatural death. Who dies eating a nice vichyssoise? But when she overhears a mourner at his funeral describing the circumstances of his death, something sounds even stranger: a bottle of rosé was on the dining table when he died. The only problem: Edgar loathed rosé. If he wasn’t drinking it, who was?

After the police rule the death accidental, Rachel knows it’s up to her and her best friend Magda to investigate. As the two Americans immerse themselves in Edgar’s upper-class world, the list of suspects grows: Could it have been his son, who inherited his money and lavish apartment? His icy ex-wife? His greedy new girlfriend? His impoverished personal assistant?

But when the suspects start dropping like flies, Rachel and Magda realize the murderer is tying up loose ends. It’ll be up to two amateur sleuths to solve their first case before the murderer decides they’re next…

ABOUT EMILIA BERNHARD:

Emilia Bernhard is an American living in England. She’s imagined being an actress, a wedding planner, a spy, and a liberal icon, but she’s only ever dreamt of being a novelist. Born in Philadelphia, she lived in Iowa, Massachusetts, Arkansas, London, Cambridge, and Exeter before settling in Bristol, where she lives with her cat, Robert Southey.

*U.S. Entries Only*

She was in the wrong place…

Fiercely independent and adventurous, Poppy Bridgerton will only wed a suitor whose keen intellect and interests match her own. Sadly, none of the fools from her London season qualify. While visiting a friend on the Dorset coast, Poppy is pleasantly surprised to discover a smugglers’ hideaway tucked inside a cave. But her delight turns to dismay when two pirates kidnap her and take her aboard a ship, leaving her bound and gagged on the captain’s bed…

He found her at the wrong time…

Known to society as a rascal and reckless privateer, Captain Andrew James Rokesby actually transports essential goods and documents for the British government. Setting sail on a time-sensitive voyage to Portugal, he’s stunned to find a woman waiting for him in his cabin. Surely, his imagination is getting the better of him. But no, she is very real—and his duty to the Crown means he’s stuck with her.

Can two wrongs make the most perfect right?

When Andrew learns that she is a Bridgerton, he knows he will likely have to wed her to avert a scandal—though Poppy has no idea that he is the son of an earl and neighbor to her aristocratic cousins in Kent. On the high seas, their war of words soon gives way to an intoxicating passion. But when Andrew’s secret is revealed, will his declaration of love be enough to capture her heart…?

ABOUT JULIA QUINN:

#1 New York Times bestselling author Julia Quinn loves to dispel the myth that smart women don’t read (or write) romance, and in 2001 she did so in grand fashion, appearing on the game show The Weakest Link and walking away with the $79,000 jackpot. She displayed a decided lack of knowledge about baseball, country music, and plush toys, but she is proud to say that she aced all things British and literary, answered all of her history and geography questions correctly, and knew that there was a Da Vinci long before there was a code. Ms. Quinn is one of only sixteen members of Romance Writers of America’s Hall of Fame, her books have been translated into 29 languages, and she currently lives with her family in the Pacific Northwest.

*U.S. Entries Only*

Jane Willan’s The Hour of Death will be a Christmas delight for fans of G. M. Malliet, set on an island in Wales.

Sister Agatha and Father Selwyn make sleuthing a work of art. But will they paint themselves into a corner when they investigate the Village Art Society president’s death?

As Yuletide settles upon Gwenafwy Abbey, the rural Welsh convent’s peace is shattered when Tiffany Reese, president of the Village Art Society, is found dead on the floor of the parish hall. Sister Agatha, whose interests lie more with reading and writing mystery stories than with making the abbey’s world-renowned organic gouda, is not shy about inserting herself into the case. With the not-entirely-eager assistance of Father Selwyn, she begins her investigation.

Sister Agatha has no shortage of suspects to check off her naughty-or-nice list, until finally, Tiffany’s half-brother, Kendrick Geddings, emerges as the prime suspect. There never was any love lost between Tiffany and Kendrick, and of late they had been locked in a vicious battle for control of the family estate. But if Sister Agatha thinks she has the case wrapped up, she’ll have to think again.

As the days of Advent tick by, Sister Agatha is determined to crack the case by Christmas in The Hour of Death, Jane Willan’s perfectly puzzling second Sister Agatha and Father Selwyn Mystery.

ABOUT JANE WILLAN:

Jane Willan wants to live in a world where everyone has time to read their favorite books, drink good coffee, and walk their dog on the beach, but until that can happen she enjoys life as a pastor and writer. When she’s not working on a sermon, or hiking with her husband, Don, you can find her rereading Jane Eyre, binge-watching ”Downton Abbey,” and trying out new ways to avoid exercise.

Go to Top