Tag archive

O

Video: Missed It? Live Interview with Elisabeth Egan and A Window Opens

in Fiction by

“Egan’s delightful debut is a fresh, funny take on the age-old struggle to have it all.” —People Fans of I Don’t Know How She Does It and Where’d You Go, Bernadette? will cheer at this “fresh, funny take on the age-old struggle to have it all” (People) about what happens when a wife and mother of three leaps at the chance to fulfill her professional destiny—only to learn every opportunity comes at a price. In A Window Opens, beloved books editor at Glamour magazine Elisabeth Egan brings us Alice Pearse, a compulsively honest, longing-to-have-it-all, sandwich generation heroine for our social-media-obsessed, lean in (or opt out) age. Like her fictional forebears Kate Reddy and Bridget Jones, Alice plays many roles (which…

Keep Reading

Video: Missed It? Interview with Rebecca Makkai, Author of Music for Wartime: Stories

in Fiction by

Named one of the must-read books of the summer by The Chicago Tribune, OMagazine, BuzzFeed, The Huffington Post, Minneapolis Star-Tribune, and The L Magazine  Rebecca Makkai’s first two novels, The Borrower and The Hundred-Year House, have established her as one of the freshest and most imaginative voices in fiction. Now, the award-winning writer, whose stories have appeared in four consecutive editions of The Best American Short Stories, returns with a highly anticipated collection bearing her signature mix of intelligence, wit, and heart. A reality show producer manipulates two contestants into falling in love, even as her own relationship falls apart. Just after the fall of the Berlin Wall, a young boy has a revelation about his father’s past when a renowned Romanian violinist plays a concert in their home. When the…

Keep Reading

Go to Top