Tag archive

A Window Opens

Video: Missed It? Live Interview with Elisabeth Egan and A Window Opens

in Fiction by

“Egan’s delightful debut is a fresh, funny take on the age-old struggle to have it all.” —People Fans of I Don’t Know How She Does It and Where’d You Go, Bernadette? will cheer at this “fresh, funny take on the age-old struggle to have it all” (People) about what happens when a wife and mother of three leaps at the chance to fulfill her professional destiny—only to learn every opportunity comes at a price. In A Window Opens, beloved books editor at Glamour magazine Elisabeth Egan brings us Alice Pearse, a compulsively honest, longing-to-have-it-all, sandwich generation heroine for our social-media-obsessed, lean in (or opt out) age. Like her fictional forebears Kate Reddy and Bridget Jones, Alice plays many roles (which…

Keep Reading

Elisabeth Egan’s A Window Opens Skewers Modern Family Life

in Fiction by

One of the most anticipated novels of the summer delves with humor and empathy into an everywoman’s heroic attempt to have it all. It’s no surprise that Alice Pearse, the harried woman at the center of A Window Opens (Simon & Schuster, August 25), confesses to her mother: “I’m so stressed, I feel like my head is going to explode.” This relatable, warm and funny debut from Glamour magazine books editor Elisabeth Egan gets at the heart of what it means to be everything to everybody. Like many of today’s brightly optimistic women, Alice follows Sheryl Sandberg’s advice to lean in only to discover that when she leans too far she begins to topple over. A Window Opens fits neatly…

Keep Reading

Go to Top