A CLOSER LOOK AT NOVEMBER’S

SIX BOOK CLUB-WORTHY TITLES

A WOMAN ALONE

By Nina Laurin

THE BOOK

A house with the darkest of secrets. A woman who is the only one who knows. “Nina Laurin’s psychological thrill ride will have you ripping through its pages at warp speed,” says PopSugar.

It’s another bright, sunny day in Venture, IL, the sort of place where dreams come true and families can get a fresh start. Cecelia Holmes deserves it after the home invasion that shattered her previous life. Now everything seems perfect — her high-security SmartHome, her doting husband, her sweet daughter.

Until she begins to feel spied on. Her husband doesn’t believe her. Her neighbors ignore her. So, when she discovers a shocking secret about the prior occupant of their house, she feels that she has no one to turn to. And now Cecelia must face her fears alone…

THE AUTHOR

Nina Laurin is the author of bestselling psychological thrillers Girl Last Seen and What My Sister Knew. Arriving in Montreal when she was just 12, she speaks and reads in Russian, French and English, but writes her novels in English.

She wrote her first novel while getting her creative writing degree from Concordia University, and Girl Last Seen was published a year later in 2017. The follow-up, What My Sister Knew, came out in 2018 to critical acclaim. Nina is fascinated by the darker side of mundane things, and she’s always on the lookout for her next twisted book idea.

LEARN MORE

Follow Nina Laurin on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram

Invite Nina to your book club

To learn more about Nina, visit her website

HE SAID WHAT?!

By Katie Beringer

THE BOOK

In the labyrinthian cyberspace of online dating, no one can rely on “feelings” — and with the endless opportunities for editing and photoshop, matchmaking websites can be misleading or downright deceitful.

Here’s your personal online “dating mentor” to navigate this crazy process. Read the incredible stories from Katie’s adventures with scamsters and schemers, filled with tips and tactics to move Mr. Wrong out of your orbit quickly.

Beringer is a no-nonsense dater, and she shares her personal experiences with bold honesty and verve. She doesn’t want you to make the same mistakes she made or that she watched her friends make. There are marvelous men out there; this book streamlines the search to help find the one for you.

THE AUTHOR

Katie Beringer is a debut author who, after losing her beautiful husband to cancer at age 58, was encouraged by her more daring and adventurous girlfriends to jump into the exciting online dating arena! She knew that she had many more life and “love chapters” left in her youthful spirit, and she was ready to delve into this new experience. Ha! … little did she know the roller coaster ride that awaited her.

JUSTICE FOR BABY B

By MerriLea Kyllo 

THE BOOK

An engaging, fast-paced plot moves the ethical and moral dilemmas of Justice for Baby B into high gear as the handsome, smart and successful hero steps up to the scales of justice.

Minnesota, 1969 — Carolyn, a young nurse, assisting with the delivery of a baby boy, watches in disbelief and horror as Dr. Jefferson attempts to dispose of the baby like unwanted trash just because he was born with a visible flaw. Unwilling to let the boy die, Carolyn finds herself doing the unthinkable — kidnapping the child and concocting a web of lies to protect herself, her family and her new son Joe.

Minnesota 1998 — Carolyn’s tenuous web of lies begins to unravel. Joe has overcome the challenges from his birth and is now an assistant district attorney. Upon learning the circumstances of his birth, he embarks on a journey for justice for both himself and the babies who came before him. Every step toward justice reveals unimaginable truths. Joe finds himself asking if the pain of discovering the secrets of the past is worth justice after all.

THE AUTHOR

Minnesota is home to MerriLea Kyllo, RN. She and her husband, Barry, raised two daughters in the land of 10,000 lakes and expanded their home to include six foreign exchange students. The cultural exchange that brought their sons and daughters into their home broadened their views.

Early in their marriage, MerriLea and Barry traveled extensively throughout the United States while he served as a submarine officer in the U.S. Navy. Living in different areas of the country opened the eyes of a girl from a small Midwestern town.

HOW THE DEER MOON HUNGERS

By Susan Wingate

THE BOOK

Nominated for selection in the 2020 National Book Awards. For fans of Where the Crawdads Sing and Jodi Picoult’s My Sister’s Keeper, Susan Wingate’s How the Deer Moon Hungers is “a powerful and memorable saga that is hard to put down and lingers in the mind long after the story is over,” says Midwest Book Review.

Mackenzie Fraser witnesses a drunk driver mow down her seven-year-old sister, and her mother blames her. Then she ends up in juvie on a trumped-up drug charge. Now she’s in the fight of her life … on the inside! And she’s losing.

THE AUTHOR

Susan Wingate is an Amazon bestselling and award-winning author of over 15 novels. Susan writes across fiction and nonfiction genres often setting her stories in the Pacific Northwest, specifically, Friday Harbor where she and her husband live. Susan’s poetry and short fiction have been included in journals such as the Virginia Quarterly and Suspense Magazine and many others.

A LAST SURVIVOR OF THE ORPHAN TRAINS

By Victoria Golden & William Walters

THE BOOK

Homeless at the age of four, he found an extraordinary path through nine decades of U.S. history.

From 1854 to the early 1930s, the American Orphan Trains transported 250,000 children from the streets and orphanages of the East Coast into homes in the emerging West. Unfortunately, families waiting for the trains weren’t always dreams come true — many times they were nightmares.

William Walters was little more than a toddler when his sister deposited him and his brother on an Orphan Train heading to destinations unknown. Separated from his brother and handed over to a cruel New Mexico couple, William faced a terrible trial. Through his strength and resilience, however, his life became a remarkable adventure. William’s astonishing quest paralleled the tumult of the twentieth century — and personified the American Dream.

THE AUTHOR

Victoria Golden holds a degree in sociology from the University of California, Los Angeles. A former public relations writer, editor, and book reviewer, she is the author of A Last Survivor of the Orphan Trains with William Walters; Independent Photography with photographer Robert Foothorap; and The Readers’ Choice: 200 Book Club Favorites. For several years she was a volunteer at a group home for foster children in Santa Rosa, CA. She lives with her husband in the northern California wine country where she currently writes fiction.

LEARN MORE

Follow Victoria Golden on Facebook

Invite Victoria to your book club

To learn more about Victoria, visit her website

THE RAIN MAY PASS

by Alan Shayne

THE BOOK

“With self-awareness, warmth, deep humor, and pain,” Alan Shayne’s story is “a great read,” praises Broadway, film and television star Linda Lavin. Set in New England in the 1940s, a teenage boy falls in love with a man twice his age and soon learns more about himself than he ever imagined possible. It is a coming-of-age memoir from Alan Shayne — actor, casting director, producer, and former President of Warner Bros Television.

Poignant and immensely readable, The Rain May Pass chronicles the story of how a self-conscious, self-doubting teenager, once clumsy and onstage in an ill-fitting tuxedo, worked his way up to one of the most powerful positions in Hollywood.

THE AUTHOR

Alan Shayne was the President of Warner Brothers Television for many years, shepherding hit shows such as Alice, Night Court, The Dukes of Hazzard, Scarecrow and Mrs. King, Wonder Woman and Growing Pains, among others. He began his career as an actor on Broadway and became a well-known casting director of TV and films such as All the President’s Men. He produced TV specials and, after leaving Warner Brothers, received an Emmy nomination for producing the mini-series The Bourne Identity with Richard Chamberlain. Alan now lives in Connecticut and Palm Beach and writes. He is also the co-author of Double Life: A Love Story, written with his partner Norman Sunshine.

CONTACT: Jim Alkon, Editorial Director | BookTrib | [email protected] | 203-226-0199 | www.booktribstage.wpengine.com