Master of Thin Air: Life and Death on the World’s Highest Peaks

by

For readers of Into Thin Air, riveting high-altitude drama and the passion and drive that inspire outsized mountaineering achievements.

Master of Thin Air opens with a fall that the author very nearly could not stop down an almost vertical rock ramp leading to a three-thousand-foot drop. The qualities that saved him then on K2—in addition to his mountaineering know-how and sheer good luck—drove his sixteen-year journey to summit all of the world’s eight-thousanders, the fourteen peaks that exceed 8,000 meters (26,000-plus feet) and take climbers into the death zone. Incredibly, he accomplished that feat without the aid of bottled oxygen for every mountain but one. By preference, he climbed solo or in small teams, without Sherpas. During twenty-three expeditions, he spent a total of three years clinging to the sides of dangerous mountains. He lost more than twenty climbing friends and, in April 2014, witnessed Everest’s deadliest avalanche.

His book is a riveting, often thrilling account of what it takes to challenge the Earth’s highest peaks and survive. It tells of death-defying ascents and even riskier descents, the gut-dropping consequences of the smallest mistakes or even just bad luck, the camaraderie and human drama of expeditions, the exhilaration of altitude. It is also the inspiring story of what motivates a person to achieve an extraordinary dream, a story of passion, resourcefulness, self-motivation, and hope—even in the most dire moments.

Meet the Author

ANDREW LOCK was the eighteenth person ever to scale all fourteen eight-thousanders, though he comes from the flattest country on earth. Awarded the Order of Australia for Services to Mountaineering, he has guided multiple teams to the summit of Mt. Everest and other of the highest peaks. A professional keynote and motivational speaker on leadership, motivation, teamwork, goal setting, and risk management, he lives in Campbell Act, Australia. Visit his site at www.andrew-lock.com.

BookTrib.com is produced by Meryl Moss Media, a leading book industry publicity firm which for more than 25 years has helped authors discover who they are and who they strive to be through publicity campaigns that are seamless, newsworthy and on target. Many debut authors, those trying to build a following, and established writers come to us for help with positioning, media exposure, marketing and social media.