Better Than Fiction: True Travel Tales From Great Fiction Writers

by

A collection of original travel stories told by some of the world’s best novelists, including Isabel Allende, Peter Matthiessen, Alexander McCall Smith, Joyce Carol Oates, Tea Obreht and DBC Pierre. Exhilaratingly varied in place, plot, and voice, these tales all share one common characteristic: They manifest a passion for the precious gifts that travel confers, from its unexpected but inevitably enriching lessons about other peoples and places to the truths – sometimes uncomfortable but always enlarging – it reveals about ourselves. “…a brilliant collection of travel stories…threaded with great warmth, as readers are invited to travel in the company of these famous authors and experience their passions and revelations.”  Meet the Editors Started in 1973, LONELY PLANET has become the…

Keep Reading

The Box Wine Sailors: Misadventures of a Broke Young Couple at Sea

by

Amy and Jimmie were not sailors. Their experience included reading a few books, watching a couple of instructional videos, and sailing once a week for a year. They were land-lubberly, middle-class twentysomethings, audacious and in love. All they wanted was to be together and do something extraordinary. They quit their jobs, bought a boat that was categorically considered “too small” for ocean sailing, and left Portland, Oregon for the Sea of Cortez. The Box Wine Sailors tells the true story of a couple’s ramshackle trip down the coast, with all the exulting highs and terrifying lows of sailing a small boat on the Pacific. From nearly being rammed by a pair of whales on Thanksgiving morning and the terrifying experience…

Keep Reading

Master of Thin Air: Life and Death on the World’s Highest Peaks

by

For readers of Into Thin Air, riveting high-altitude drama and the passion and drive that inspire outsized mountaineering achievements. Master of Thin Air opens with a fall that the author very nearly could not stop down an almost vertical rock ramp leading to a three-thousand-foot drop. The qualities that saved him then on K2—in addition to his mountaineering know-how and sheer good luck—drove his sixteen-year journey to summit all of the world’s eight-thousanders, the fourteen peaks that exceed 8,000 meters (26,000-plus feet) and take climbers into the death zone. Incredibly, he accomplished that feat without the aid of bottled oxygen for every mountain but one. By preference, he climbed solo or in small teams, without Sherpas. During twenty-three expeditions, he…

Keep Reading

Driving Hungry: A Memoir

by

A delicious memoir that takes us from Buenos Aires to New York to Berlin as the author, driven by wanderlust and an unrelenting appetite, finds purpose, passion, and unexpected flavor. After putting her dream of opening her own restaurant on hold, Layne Mosler moves to Buenos Aires to write about food. But she is also in search of that elusive something that could give shape to her life. One afternoon, fleeing a tango club following a terrible turn on the dance floor, she impulsively asks her taxista to take her to his favorite restaurant. Soon she is savoring one of the best steaks of her life and, in the weeks that follow, repeating the experiment with equally delectable results. So begins the…

Keep Reading

The Interior Circuit: A Mexico City Chronicle

by

Dispatched from a city wracked by high-level corruption scandals and massive popular protests calling for justice culminating around the disappearance of forty-three college students in Guerrero, Mexico,  Francisco Goldman’s THE INTERIOR CIRCUIT (Grove Press; July 7, 2015) is a timely, provocative, and kaleidoscopic journey into the heart of Mexico City that fuses a personal journey to a multi-layered investigation of one of the world’s most remarkable and often misunderstood great cities. Balancing memoir and reportage, Goldman begins with a story of enrolling in driving lessons, both to overcome his fear of the anarchic chaos of Mexico City traffic, and  to mark the fifth anniversary of the tragic loss of his wife, a native of the city. As he emerges from his…

Keep Reading

There Is Room For You: Tales From A Transgender Defender’s Heart

by

From the recent historic gay marriage victory in the Supreme Court to Caitlyn Jenner’s splashy coming-out on the cover of Vanity Fair, the transformative potential of the transgender experience has inarguably never taken hold of the public dialogue to the extent it is today. With the July 2015 release of There Is Room For You: Tales From A Transgender Defender’s Heart, Zoe Dolan – one of America’s highest-profile criminal lawyers and transgender activists – shares her incredible story with the world. Contributing a nuanced, insightful, and inspiring portrait of life as a transgender woman, There Is Room For You has the capacity to speak to the heart of anyone – transgender or not – and help them believe in the…

Keep Reading

The Disneyland Book of Lists

by

The Disneyland Book of Lists offers a new way to explore six decades of Disneyland® history. Hundreds of fascinating lists cover the past and present and feature everything from the park’s famous attractions, shops, restaurants, parades, and live shows to the creative artists, designers, characters, and performers who have made Disneyland® the world’s most beloved theme park. Inside the pages of this fun- and fact-filled book you will find: • 13 of Walt Disney’s Disneyland® Favorites • 33 Remaining Signs and Structures from Disneyland®’s Past • 13 Heart-Thumping Moments in Disneyland®’s Attractions • 46 Disneyland® Parades • 18 Secrets in the Haunted Mansion • 30 Jokes from the Jungle Cruise • 26 Special Events at Disneyland You May Not Have Heard…

Keep Reading

Home Sweet Anywhere

by

“This terrific book gives hope to everyone who desires the fun and freedom of dropping everything and hitting the road to foreign ports.” —Jeri Sedlar, co-author of Don’t Retire, REWIRE! The Sell-Your-House, See-the-World Life! Reunited after thirty-five years and wrestling a serious case of wanderlust, Lynne and Tim Martin decided to sell their house and possessions and live abroad full-time. They’ve never looked back. With just two suitcases, two computers, and each other, the Martins embark on a global adventure, taking readers from sky-high pyramids in Mexico to Turkish bazaars to learning the contact sport of Italian grocery shopping. But even as they embrace their new home-free lifestyle, the Martins grapple with its challenges, including hilarious language barriers, finding financial stability,…

Keep Reading

Go to Top