The National Book Foundation has announced the finalists for the prestigious National Book Awards, naming five books each in five categories.

The winners will be announced Nov. 20.

The mission of the National Book Foundation is to celebrate the best literature in America, expand its audience, and ensure that books have a prominent place in American culture.

Here are the five finalists in each category:




Young people’s literature

  • Akwaeke Emezi, Pet
  • Jason Reynolds, Look Both Ways: A Tale Told in Ten Blocks
  • Randy Ribay, Patron Saints of Nothing
  • Laura Ruby, Thirteen Doorways, Wolves Behind Them All
  • Martin W. Sandler, 1919: The Year That Changed America


  • Jericho Brown, The Tradition
  • Toi Derricotte, “I”: New and Selected Poems
  • Ilya Kaminsky, Deaf Republic
  • Carmen Giménez Smith, Be Recorder
  • Arthur Sze, Sight Lines

Translated literature

  • Khaled Khalifa, Death Is Hard Work
    Translated from Arabic by Leri Price
  • László Krasznahorkai, Baron Wenckheim’s Homecoming
    Translated from Hungarian by Ottilie Mulzet
  • Scholastique Mukasonga, The Barefoot Woman
    Translated from French by Jordan Stump
  • Yoko Ogawa, The Memory Police
    Translated from Japanese by Stephen Snyder
  • Pajtim Statovci, Crossing
    Translated from Finnish by David Hackston