You always remember your first love… don’t you?

That theme plays a large role in internationally bestselling author Mhairi McFarlane’s new funny, romantic and heartfelt novel, Don’t You Forget About Me (William Morrow).

If there’s anything worse than being fired from the lousiest restaurant in town, it’s coming home early to find your boyfriend in bed with someone else. Reeling from the humiliation of a double dumping in one day, Georgia Horspool takes the next job that comes her way – bartender in a newly opened pub.

There’s only one problem: It’s run by a guy she fell in love with years ago. And to make matters worse, he doesn’t even remember her.

Lucas McCarthy has not only grown into a broodingly handsome man, but he’s also turned into an actual grownup, with a thriving business and a dog. Crossing paths with him again throws Georgina’s rocky present into sharp relief – and brings a secret from her past bubbling to the surface.

Only she knows what happened twelve years ago, and why she’s allowed the memories to chase her ever since. But maybe it’s not too late for the truth, or a second chance with the one that got away.

McFarlane writes bittersweet rom-coms, and her work would seem to appeal to fans of Sophie Kinsella, Sally Thorne, Julia Whelan and Josie Silver. The book transports the reader to small-town England, rife with everyday problems of life, love and associated calamities that affect us all.

“Romantic comedy,” says McFarlane, “especially ‘second chance’ romances, thrive on the missed opportunity, the fatal moment of confusion or miscommunication that drove two love struck people apart. It occurred to me that school is absolutely rife with such misunderstandings, not least because you don’t understand yourself very well at that age.”

Don’t You Forget About Me is available for purchase.

About Mhairi McFarlane

Mhairi McFarlane was born in Scotland. After some efforts at journalism, she started writing novels, and her first book, You Had Me at Hello, was an instant success. She’s now written five books, and she lives in Nottingham with a man and a cat.