Tall Poppy Review: Fragile Friendships in “The Glass Wives”

in Fiction by

In Amy Nathan’s The Glass Wives (Saint Martin’s Press), a devastating end becomes a beginning of sorts for Evie and Nicole Glass. When Richard Glass is killed in a tragic accident, Nicole is a sudden widow. But what does that make Evie, his ex-wife? Financial instability and an unknown future plague both women, and as they are thrust into the unknown they find themselves flailing. Hoping to find some security and longing for family in the midst of such loss, Nicole proposes that she and Luca, her toddler son, move in with Evie and her twins Sam and Sophie. Against her own better judgement, Evie agrees.

As unexpected bonds form between the children, Evie and Nicole engage in a cautious dance that is both wrenching and graceful. As they strive to put the needs of their children above their own desires, they find themselves embarking on a journey that is filled with love and loss, and ultimately finding the courage to trust again.

Questions abound as this unconventional family tries to find common ground. Is Evie just using Nicole to ease her own financial burden? What secret is Nicole hiding? And will Evie and Nicole be able to find a way through their grief to health and wholeness?

Nathan weaves a beautiful story filled with characters that are real and relatable. As both Evie and Nicole seek ways to connect and rebuild their lives, readers will find themselves cheering them on and hoping for renewal. A cast of funny, tender friends round out this gorgeous book, and women of all ages will be able to find themselves on the pages of The Glass Wives. Soulful and unflinchingly honest, Nathan’s debut is not to be missed. Perfect for fans of Sonja Yoerg, Orly Konig, and Karma Brown.

The Glass Wives is now available to purchase.

About AMY SUE NATHAN:
Amy Sue Nathan is the author The Good Neighbor (St. Martin’s Press, December 2015) and The Glass Wives (St. Martin’s Press, May 2013) and dozens of articles, essays, and stories published in The Chicago Tribune, Printers Row Journal, Chicago Parent, Huffington Post, and the New York Times and Washington Post online, among many others. She teaches workshops for Writer’s Digest University, works as a freelance writer and editor, and hosts the Women’s Fiction Writers blog, where she has interviewed more than 150 authors since 2011. Amy grew up in Philadelphia and is a graduate of Temple University with a degree in Journalism (which she actually uses). Amy lives near Chicago, has two grown children, two senior dogs, and is busy writing her third novel.

Nicole Baart is the mother of five children from four different countries. The cofounder of a non-profit organization, One Body One Hope, she lives in a small town in Iowa. She is the author of seven novels, including, most recently, Little Broken Things. Find out more at NicoleBaart.com. Amazon Author Page B&N Books Page Indiebound Books Page Find Nicole on Goodreads

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

*

Go to Top